First blog post! New Year, New Me

We are all guilty of this phrase “New Year, New Me”.


I for one am also guilty, although I do not join to chant this phrase. I believe I have thought about it at some point in time.


Now I don’t think starting the New year wishing for a fresh start is a bad thing. However, the concept is so fluffed. 


Just because it is a new year, it does not guarantee that, change will not come instantaneously. 

Bad habits are hard to break, in an Huffington post a researcher said that:

On average, it takes more than two months before a new behavior becomes automatic — 66 days to be exact


Following on from this, the topic of resolutions now come into play….. 

Resolutions put so much pressure on people hence why a lot of people fall off soon after, because they don’t see pass the short term excitement to the long-term future rather we seek instant result.


Rather than make resolutions, why not set goals. The way the human mind works allows you to slowly pace yourself knowing that you have goals set for the year and thereby you work towards those goals.


Goals also help to reflect on yourself, surroundings and mind-space.  You can check to see if you are still forced on those things you originally set out to do.

Write down your goals, mentally or physically on a piece of paper. Pray about them, commit them to God.  Then work towards them!.

I guess as you grow, you start to consider these things a lot more right.


One of my goals, was to be a lot more adventurous, now I don’t all of a sudden need to try everything in the whole world, neither do I need to go out of my way to do/spend what I know I can’t afford. 

However, I can plan towards one thing I know would be exciting and very rare for me to do. Example: go watch a basketball match. To do this, I know I have to save up money, look out for dates where tickets are cheap then when the opportunity comes, I will make my move.

Finally, how is the ‘New You’ benefiting your surroundings or are you just, new you for selfish reasons? Only when you give your life to Christ, you become a new creature and old things are passed away. Some of you are still in the habit of making fundamental mistakes like you did the years before just under the cover of a new digital number.


Nothing is really different between 31 December 2016 and 1st January 2017, if you are not consciously putting in efforts to try to be a better person. 


Besides, it is only a truly a ‘New Year’ on your birthday day.

Stay safe.

On that note….

Let’s discuss, what are your thoughts on this topic.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑